Wonder at His Wonders

December 9, 2008

You are the God who performs miracles; you display your power among the peoples.

I mentioned briefly two posts ago about cynicism and frustration. I feel like I’m still really immature in terms of knowing how to wait upon God. I came into this year with a lot of expectations and thought that by asking for things I was showing that I trusted in his power. But God was basically just like, “You’re dumb.” Because he doesn’t just want to bless me, he wants me to marvel and relish in the blessings that he gives me. Whether I ask for them or not. So recently I have found that I am often taken by surprise when he does answer prayers, when things do change, when I do see his power at work in this world and those around me. WHY? I want to feel wonder and awe, not surprise. Why should I be surprised when he shows me that he is REAL and personal and even now is working for us? Why should I be surprised at how good he continues to be when he’s already shown love by freeing and rescuing me from death?

I need greater faith. To seal up the myriad cracks and doubts so that I don’t just fall to pieces one day. To believe he performs great works even in this very day and time. Especially in this day and time.

Lord, I have heard of your fame; I stand in awe of your deeds, O Lord. Renew them in our day, in our time make them known; in wrath remember mercy.

Leave a Reply

